When I Grow Up

When I grow up I want to be a……………………………

Well honestly, I have no idea. I am almost twenty years of age and have no idea what I want to do. I take college classes but my major changes all of the time. My first major was film, then it was communication sciences and disorders, then it was nursing, then it was business, and now it is English and Psychology.

I am all over the place aren’t I?

It is hard to pick a career for the rest of your life. I have one goal amidst my chaotic educational life: I want a career that gives me the opportunity to make a positive difference in people’s lives. I do not have one passion, I have SEVERAL passions. My friends know what they want to be: nurses, engineers, teachers/educators, missionaries, doctors, therapists, and so on.

See, God has not quite revealed to me what I am supposed to be yet, all I know is I am meant to help others. I always thought about teaching (especially English), because I can work with the Peace Corps, I can work with mission groups, I can work in countries that need good people to come and help. English seems so perfect to teach, but so does math. Then I look at Psychology and realize how effective a good therapist can be. I mean there are SO MANY OPTIONS!

Most of the time I think, “One day I will know what I am supposed to do.” Other times I want to know now and right now (impatient right?). I keep thinking I will magically wake up one day and just know! A girl can dream right?

My point is, just because you have graduated high school does not mean that you will immediately know what you want to do. It may take you a little longer to graduate college, if you are going to college, but do not rush into a major for the wrong reasons. Just keep trying out various courses, see what you like and do not like. For example, I HATED nursing. That is definitely NOT my path. But it was something I was interested in at one point and I gave it a chance.

Trust me yall, I know it is frustrating trying to figure out what to do at such a young age, but take the time to find something you love to do and for some of us that takes some time. But I will get there eventually and if you are struggling with this then just know that you will get there at some point too.

 

18 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

  1. I can definitely relate to this. I am also at that stage of my life when I have to choose a career. Some days I am confident with my choice, other days I feel lost and still haven’t figured out what do I want to do to the rest of my life. My opinion changes faster than Donald Trumps hair falls out! lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I cannot tell you how hard I laughed at the Donald Trump comment! Haha! I am the same, sometimes I am 100% in agreement with my choice and then the next moment I am not. It is hard to pick something to do for the rest of your life. I know I can go back to college but the less time I spend there the better!

      Like

      • Yes, it is a very hard decision to make at a such young age. You are interested in so many different things, you want to try yourself in everything. But.. Time is our worst enemy.

        Like

      • Time is our worst enemy. Everyone keeps telling me I will be a professional college student because I keep changing my mind (I do not like the thought of that at all). I know the more I change my mind the longer it will take to graduate but I just really want to make sure I am happy and confident in my choice. Decisions, decisions.

        Like

      • Exactly! Like I said, I am happy that I have had the chance to take some classes and rule out some options, but that does not rule out every option. I am just waiting for that point when I know that I have finally picked the right major.

        Like

      • I have. I want to do a lot of traveling. I am good with a camera and I love to write so I have definitely thought about making something out of that! I do a lot of writing on the side, and of course blogging. I do have a full time job (I hate it, but it pays the bills and college tuition). Sometimes I honestly think college isn’t worth it.

        What about you?

        Like

      • I think you should definitely try something! Where do you work, may I ask?
        Well, I can not argue with college part. To be honest, I often think that college is not for me. I am more of a person who loves to explore things, loves to create something new. I do not see myself sitting in office 24/7, struggling to get money so I can pay bills.
        I want my job to inspire me, to inspire others.
        Same as you, I love travelling, taking pictures (including selfies!). I love drawing things, I often draw differently, I love to come up with new things. Music is my second passion. I’ve been wanting to create Youtube channel since forever, but always backed out..
        There are a lot of things I want to try, but then there is college, job decisions and I am just being torn!
        P.S. I am also waiting for a big ass reply with the things you are passionate about.

        Like

      • I have that office job you so much described. Secretary stuff and trust me, I hate it. It just simply sucks but like you said, struggling to pay bills and college is expensive!
        I always encourage people to take on their dream, so I encourage you to do that! If you start a YouTube channel I would love for you to share that with me!
        Oh boy, my passions. Well I have done a lot of cinematography work for the past 6 years – short films, videos for my school dsitrict, a church camp that I am in complete control of all videos and the YouTube channel that I have done for the past 3 years, and much more. Like I said, photography. I can’t sing though (so I think), and I definitely cannot draw, but I love to bake and try new-odd recipes. I love sign language and languages in general. I like to learn about and experience new cultures. I am passionate about people, about animals, and about good causes. My list could go on and on.
        I am like you, I am torn between just taking a leap and experiencing life, and doing college and then a job.

        Like

      • Ouch, must suck, sorry for you.
        Thank you! If I ever decide, you will be the first one to know.
        6 years? That’s a long time. You have a Youtube channel yourself? I am waiting for the link.
        Ugh, I think you’re the first person I met with the same struggles!

        Like

      • It does suck, I am constantly looking for a new job. It is just hard to find a good job that will work around college schedules.
        Great, thanks!
        I do not have a channel that has the stuff I have done on it, though I should do that! All of my work spans across multiple YouTube channels that I created and/or monitor. The only work that I do that does not go on YouTube is when I work sport events.
        Agreed. None, I mean none, of my friends and family understand this.

        Like

  2. Hello there, I’m new to your blog but thought I would chime in because I can relate.

    I’m 26 and still figuring out what I want. You’re definitely normal. I also switched majors 3 times, got an office job that eventually led me to a mental breakdown, tried to become a plumber, and now I’m pursuing writing as a career.

    You will make it through and find your place. I know you will. 🙂

    Best of life and writing to you.

    -JM

    Like

    • I am loving how many people are able to relate to it. I think that society has expectations for people to immediately know what they want the moment they graduate high school.

      I currently work an office job and am looking to switch I just haven’t done that yet. I wish you the best on your writing career, I think you will make it through as well!

      Thank you so much for sharing, I love it when someone else shares their experiences!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

