Lets Talk NaNoWriMo

Alrighty everybody, I promised I would explain NaNoWriMo as the time got closer and I am officially 15 days away from it (if I do not count today). Well if you have never heard of this event, it happens twice a year – April and November. The goal is to write 50,000 words in 1 month, or 30 days. That is about 1,667 words a day – not a day before, not a day after. Now I attempted this once, four years ago, and I failed.. an epic kind of fail. You do have the option to set your own word goals, higher or lower, and you also have the option to write anything.

Why, oh why, did I fail the first time around? Well…. I set my word goal to high and I became a bit obsessed with reaching the word goal and I did not focus hard enough on the actual story and the quality of the story, and though I got 2,000 words away from my 40,000 word count goal my story honestly stunk.

SOO why am I doing NaNoWriMo this time, what is my word count goal, what am I going to write about? Well, out of these three questions I can only answer one. I am doing NaNoWriMo to use as a motivator to get me back writing again. I stopped writing when life got unbearably crazy and emotionally difficult back in June last year. I miss it dearly, and this will be a good push to get me back on the wagon.

With that being said, I am still determining my word count but I am thinking about cutting it in half to 20,000-25,000. That at most could be 834 words a day. I find that to be a tad bit more manageable for me and my crazy schedule. This is not set in stone though, especially since I do not have the slightest clue what I want to write about but I have a few ideas:

Novel option 1: Title “Scanned”   About: well I won’t share that yet.

Memoir: My friend actually suggested this to me and the more I think about it the more I like the idea.

An accumulation of poetry, who knows how many poems, but I love poetry.

OR

An accumulation of short stories based around one theme. Again though, I won’t share specifics at this time.

No matter what I pick , I, for one, am excited. I will share my journey through the process throughout April and might make another post or two about it in the next couple of weeks. Wish my luck!

4 thoughts on “Lets Talk NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

