Episode 1 – The Only Episode That Never Ends

Guys, I went into my towns courthouse for the first time yesterday! It was weird, but just like you see on the movies! I was very intrigued by the whole process. I also hate that it was such a big deal for one simple piece of paper.

I am a law abiding citizen (except for the speed limit, and one lane right/left turns). I have never been pulled over or given a ticket (except for the one that I got from my local university for parking in the wrong spot, but if they would repaint the lines then that would not have happened, but whatever). Anyways, the hearing for my dads estate was yesterday morning. Since he did not write a will, it has been a long process for me to become executive/administrator/whatever over the estate.

Me (court filing person for estate), my mom (witness 1), my aunt (witness 2), my uncle (guest 1) and my brother (guest 2), all entered the dainty, empty room. As we entered I said, “Whoa I have never been in a court room before! This is cool… and odd.” They chuckled. My lawyer informed me I got to sit in the front in the rolly chair next to her – seriously that was cool I felt like I was on a TV show or movie – and then talked me through the process while laying her briefcase and papers everywhere.

We stood for the judge, sat when he commanded us too, the lawyer and attorney general guy did the opening statements with a lot of legal terms I did not understand and then we went on. Most of the questions I got were yes and no questions, I did my turn, then my mom, then my aunt. After the lawyers did an ending statement with some more legal terms that just went right over my head, though I wasn’t completely listening, the judge dismissed us.

The story really isn’t the point I guess, but it was a nifty first experience for me and I just shared that with you (poorly, but I did). Plus it was practically the highlight of my day.

Any who, my dad passed away almost 3 months ago on the 20th of this month. No one would talk to me until I got this piece of paper saying I was administrator/executive over the estate. That means for 3 months I have been waiting and waiting and waiting to go to court for a total of 10 minutes and then get a PIECE OF PAPER, and I filed for a hearing back in early February but my lawyer died and we had to restart the process. Gah, it has been aggravating. Then, I thought, I would be able to take care of everything I needed to for my dad’s estate because I finally have this PIECE OF PAPER.

Nope, wrong again. Everywhere I went I needed more papers, and have to wait for weeks for said papers. Each time I tried to do something they needed another paper and the next place needed another paper but a completely different paper from the previous place. Needless to say I spent my whole afternoon yesterday going from place to place and making a circle around my decently sized town. I also spent the whole afternoon on the phone, and even after all of that I got pretty much nothing accomplished except making a two page to-do list which was originally 3/4 of a page.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but losing someone and trying to take care of their stuff should not be this difficult (and expensive). Stupid government involvement and greedy companies. Can’t people just have time to grieve without having to worry about how they are going to pay for a funeral, and a lawyer, and a CPA, and whoever else? My brother, bless his heart, has had to take out over 7,000 in loans just to pay for everything. Isn’t losing your dad as a 19 year old, or losing your dad in general payment enough?

Seriously, if any of you readers have lost a parent, or loved one, who did not have a will, was it this difficult for you?

 

Leave a Reply

