In God We Trust

Okay guys, stop going to court over the word God. GOD GOD GOD GOD. There I said it.

I find it saddening to hear how many people try so hard to remove God from every. little. thing.

“In God We Trust”

“One nation under God”

God in school, God in the workplace, God in the world.

The truth is, there is no way to make everyone happy. I got in trouble in junior high for praying before my football game: no other cheerleaders prayed with me and I did so silently to myself. I got in trouble because the person in the stands did not “want her child exposed to that kind of behavior and was tired of Christians forcing their religion onto her.” I didn’t say anything, but it didn’t stop me from praying in public. I am not forcing my religion on anyone if I am quietly praying to myself.

Side comment: I do not force my religion on other people and many Christians don’t. If I am around someone new and mention God, my religion, or praying for them, and they inform me (hopefully politely) that they are not religious and are more comfortable with not talking about it then I respect them and their wishes. Everyone is different and that includes when it comes to religion and I respect and honor that – if I was in their position I would want someone to do the same for me. I will do what I am called to do – love them no matter what.

The pledge, the money, the little things here and there are part of our history and our beginnings. It is not there to offend, or to “force” religion, it is there to symbolize our beginnings as a country and that is something to be honored and respected – it is traditional.

I think that there are so many other battles to battle. Religion is a right, the lack of religion is right, believing and having faith is a right, choosing not to believe is a right – that is that. We should be fighting sex trafficking, terrorism, racism, public education quality, health care quality and health care expenses, college expenses, the minimum wage battle, poverty, THE WORLD/NATURE (you know, the place we live in but keep destroying), the rise in suicides/depression/anxiety and a number of other illnesses that are not understood by a handful of society, medical research, the fight for women to have equal pay, the fight for women to breast feed in public and not feel ashamed, the right for women to have paid parental leave, and this list could go on. Don’t get me wrong, I will always fight for my right to religion. I will fight for me to be able to believe in God, and say Jesus, and pray in public. God’s Not Dead 1 and 2, and the next installment which will come out are great examples of ways Christians have to fight for their right to believe because we are having to fight for it. But I am not going to give up on the other battles that need people to fight for them and maybe more people will turn to fight those battles too. We may not all agree on religion but we could agree that sex trafficking is wrong, or that racial division is still present and harmful, or that people should all have the opportunity to good healthcare and so on.

My point is – why are we spending so much time in a battle for and against religion when the right to or to not believe is just that – a basic right. Whether or not you are religious, the world needs good people doing good things. People who put time and effort into doing good and making the world good whether that be for religious or personal reasons. There is so much we as people have to offer this world. Our diversity and difference can make us that much more effective if we work with each other to do good.

 

Leave a Reply

